Early Start Act Q&A

ur Children Deserve More than the Minimum

What is the Early Start Act?

The Early Start Act was approved by the legislature and recently signed into law by Governor Inslee. This
historic legislation invests into expanding high quality early learning for Washington’s children and families,
particularly in our most diverse and vulnerable communities. For child care providers, the Early Start Act
focuses on supporting high quality early learning services through Early Achievers and ensures that the child
care providers, especially those who serve low income families, receive all needed help and resources to
sustain high quality programming.

I have not joined Early Achievers yet. What does the Early Start Act require me to do?
If you do not serve young children on subsidy, Early Start Act is encouraging you to engage in Early Achievers,
but you are not required to do so. If you serve children age 5 or below on subsidy, you are required to join
Early Achievers by August 1, 2016. Doing so will enable you to immediately engage in the quality improvement
activities and receive the state support, such as:

¢ higher reimbursement rates for every young child on subsidy you serve,

¢ professional development,

e technical assistance,

e scholarships,

* need-based grants,

e and more.
Once you have joined, you are required to complete Early Achievers level 2 activities by August 1, 2017, and
reach a level 3 rating by 2020.

Beginning July 1, 2016, The Early Start Act also requires the Department of Early Learning in collaboration with
the Department of Social and Health Services to provide 12 months of assistance to all families that are eligible
for Working Connections Child Care (state subsidy).

| have already joined Early Achievers. What does the Early Start Act require me to do?

The Early Start Act (approved and funded in the maintenance level of the budget) ensures that your supports
will be there for you now and in the future. Also, you will now receive additional services to support you in
meeting the timelines articulated above.

| am interested in opening a new child care program. What does the Early Start Act is require me to do?
If you do not plan on serving children age 5 or below on subsidy, then you just have to follow the current
process to get licensed.

If you do want to serve young children on subsidy, you are now required to enroll in Early Achievers within
30 days of receiving your initial subsidy payment from the state. Once you have enrolled, you are required to
complete level 2 activities within 12 months, and achieve a level 3 rating within 30 months of enrollment in
Early Achievers. You will be eligible to receive all Early Achievers supports and awards.



Early Achievers, Washington’s
quality rating and
improvement system (QRIS),
is voluntary for licensed child
care providers and helps early
learning programs offer high-
quality care.

New. Existing
Providers' Providers Volunteers

The Early Childhood Education and
Assistance Program (ECEAP, pronounced
“e-cap”) helps children and families

get ready for kindergarten. ECEAP is
funded by Washington state and is free
to enrolled families. It serves three-

and four-year-olds from low income
families, or with developmental or
environmental risk factors that could
interfere with school success.

Child care providers who are not
required to participate in Early
The Department of Early Learning Achievers may volunteer and focus on
(DEL) licenses more than 6,000 child enhancing a quality of their services.
care centers and family home child

care providers in Washington. Licensed

child care providers follow minimum

licensing requirements set by the state

to ensure children in licensed care are

in safe, healthy, and nurturing places.

“First, Early Start Act maintains Early Achievers, our state’s quality rating and improvement system, and
makes it the quality standard for all our state’s early learning programs . . . | have heard concerns from
providers and parents about the mandatory requirements of the bill, which have the potential to reduce the
number of licensed child care providers in the state. | share those worries — and we will do what we can

to make sure it doesn’t happen. That is why | am directing my staff to work to preserve our wonderful child

care and early learning facilities and to take the steps necessary to ensure that we are growing the licensed
care in our state, not shrinking it.”

Governor J. Inslee
Early Start Act Signing - July, 6 2015




