Alert: Beginning July 1, 2018, the Department of Early Learning will become the Department of Children, Youth, and Families (DCYF). After June 30, 2018, this website will no longer be updated. For the latest information on early learning, visit the DCYF website at

Links to Other States’ Early Learning Guidelines


Printer-friendly version

Many states in addition to Washington have developed early learning guidelines:

Alaska Early Learning Guidelines (2006)

Arizona Early Learning Standards (2005)

Arkansas Framework for Infant and Toddler Care

Arkansas Early Childhood Education Framework (2004)

California Desired Results Developmental Profiles

Colorado Building Blocks to Colorado’s Content Standards (2003)


Delaware Early Learning Foundations for School Success (2003)

District of Columbia Early Learning Standards for Children Entering Kindergarten in the District of Columbia (2005)

Florida Early Learning and Developmental Standards for Four-Year-Olds(2011)

Georgia Early Learning Standards (2006)

Hawaii Preschool Content Standards for Center Based Programs (2004)

Idaho Early Learning Guidelines (2008)

Illinois Early Learning Standards (2002)

Indiana Foundations to the Indiana Academic Standards for Young Children from Birth to Age 5 (2006)

Iowa Early Learning Standards (2006)

Kansas Early Learning Guidelines: A Developmental Sequence Building the Foundation for Successful Children DRAFT (2006)

Kentucky Early Childhood Standards

Louisiana’s Early Learning Guidelines and Program Standards: Birth through Three (2005)

Maine Early Childhood Learning Guidelines

Maryland Guidelines for Healthy Child Development and Care

Massachusetts Early Learning Guidelines

Michigan Early Childhood Standards of Quality for Infant and Toddler Programs (2006)

Early Childhood Standards of Quality for Prekindergarten (2005)

Minnesota Early Childhood Indicators of Progress: Minnesota’s Early Learning Guidelines for Birth to 3 (2007)

Mississippi Early Learning Guidelines for Infants and Toddlers (2010)

Missouri Pre-K Standards (2003)

Montana’s Early Learning Guidelines (2004)

Nebraska Early Learning Guidelines

Nevada Pre-Kindergarten Content Standards

New Hampshire Early Learning Guidelines (2005)


New Mexico PreK Program Standards (2008)

New Mexico’s Pre-Kindergarten Learning Outcomes (Draft) (2006)

New York Preschool Planning Guide: Building a Foundation for Development of Language and Literacy in the Early Years (1998)

Foundations: Early Learning Standards for North Carolina Preschoolers and Strategies for Guiding Their Success (2005)

Ohio Early Learning Content Standards

Oklahoma Pre-Kindergarten Curriculum Guidelines (2003)

Pennsylvania Early Learning Standards

Rhode Island Early Learning Standards

South Carolina Good Start, Grow Smart Early Learning Standards

South Dakota Early Learning Guidelines

Tennessee Early Childhood Early Learning Developmental Standards


Vermont Early Learning Standards Guiding the Development and Learning of Children Entering Kindergarten (2003)

Virginia’s Foundation Blocks for Early Learning

West Virginia Early Learning Standards Framework: Content Standards and Learning Criteria for Pre-Kindergarten

Wisconsin Model Early Learning Standards

Wyoming Early Childhood Readiness Standards